February 1, 2006

A (fuzzy) mind of its own…

Posted in Knitting at 6:56 pm by tatertot

I think my stash is asexually reproducing.  Behind closed doors, when it has been untouched for a scant few hours, when nothing has been introduced from the outside world for a while.  I’m not sure at exactly what point that I began contemplating taking over a room in the house exclusively for yarn and knitteries, but I certainly realized today that it is a dire need.  (I ask that you ignore the fact that I’m in much more desperate need of an office.) 

When my stash isn’t inexplicably multiplying upon itself, it’s sending subliminal messages to buy more yarn with all the subtlety of a sledgehammer. I nearly purchased 5 (count them- FIVE!) skeins of sock yarn and two extra sets of double point needles, thereby talking myself out of nearly $75.  I was all the way at the “checkout” screen before I realized exactly what I was doing.  I need help. 

In the mean time, I’ve put myself on a yarn diet.  I’ve lost control of my stash and am forbidding myself from buying yarn until I’ve done something with all of the yarn that I’ve bought. 

This afternoon bodes a trip to the DMV, which guarantees an estimated four hours of knitting time, which will hopefully decrease the size of the stash…

Help!  I’m being overrun by a rebellious yarn stash!

READING: Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell: a Novel by Susannah Clarke
LISTENING: “I Will Follow You Into the Dark” by Deathcab for Cutie
KNITTING: Small drink coasters
WATCHING: Monk: Season Three

 

1 Comment »

  1. Rossana said,

    Hi, Tasha! Thanks so much for visiting me at my blog! I was very pleased to follow your link over to your blog as it’s very new to me. Fun read! Good luck in the never-ending battle with the stash. I make a perfunctory stab at controlling it, but it’s always very hungry–always wants more! And the amazing number of online shopping places for sock yarn and needles and patterns and all kinds of goodies…wow! I know exactly what you mean about getting to the checkout page before coming to one’s senses…or not. Hee hee!


Leave a Reply

