February 8, 2006

Bandit

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:02 pm by tatertot

This morning, just after six, a family pet died.  Naturally, out of the five pets that we own, the one that died was our favorite, our baby, our ferret Bandit. 

I guess the thing about ferrets is that they have a way of getting underfoot, and this morning, Bandit ran under my mother’s foot as she was going down the stairs.  I think it broke her heart, and now she has to go to work with all this grief.  Now I have to go to school with all this grief. 

But I think what is the saddest thing of all is that the ferret was truly my little sister’s ferret.  She left the house before it happened and won’t know for several hours what has happened to her little baby.  And I don’t think I’ve got the heart to tell her, or to even look at her until my Mom tells her because she’ll just look at my face… and know. 

The hardest part, naturally, is that this is the first pet we’ve ever had who died in our possession.  We have had other animals, but they were all given away and then died or put down at the veterinarians in a very clinical way, or whathaveyou.  But Bandit…

Today is going to be very, very hard.

LISTENING:  I’m sorry.  I don’t think I have it in me to do this right now.

Leave a Reply

